Crochet Series: History

Standard

This Series will be all about Crochet. We will be featuring its History, Types of Stitches, and Basic Crochet Lessons. So if you don’t know how to crochet and would like to know all about it and even learn how to do it, come and check out my new series on this time honored craft.

    

                                                                                              HISTORY OF CROCHET

First off I have to say that my favorite crochet is Intarsia (charted) Crochet. I will be getting into this style later on in this series for any experienced crocheters.

Compared with knitting, crochet has a much shorter history, and is thought to have developed from lace-making. The origin is debatable, but research suggest that it became a pastime for high-born ladies in Europe in the 16th century. It was passed on by nuns, who were the main teachers of lace-making at that time.

Crochet was an imitation of lace-making because lace was very expensive and most could not afford it. The word “crochet” comes from the French word for hook.

It evolved from a form a needlework called tambouring, which is a cross between lace-making and crochet. It got its name because it was originally worked in a frame which resembled a tambourine. It looks like chain stitches (used in embroidery) and was used to make decorative flower motifs on muslin and other fabrics.

Once it was discovered that patterns of chain stitches could be made by joining them together without the need for a frame or fabric, lace-making developed into the art we know today as crochet, although at that time is was done with extremely tiny hooks and fine thread (sort of like what you would use to make doilies).

The first publication of crochet patterns was in the 1840’s, crochet became more popular and not only for the wealthy.

Mille Riego de la Branchardiere translated several bobbin  lace and needle lace designs into “Irish” crochet patterns for publication.

Irish Crochet is said to be the finest form of crochet. Exceedingly intricate and complicated patterns are worked with fine thread. Queen Victoria loved this form of crochet so much that she learned how to do it herself.

                     

16th century crochet clothing

                                     

16th century crochet clothing

  Crochet has undergone some changes since Victorian times. It has also been in and out of fashion for centuries. During World War I & II, only small items were made, because material was so expensive. In post-war years larger articles were made, such as tablecloths and clothing. In the 1960′ s crochet clothing and accessories were very popular. 

Recently there has been a resurgence in its popularity. Today’s crochet patterns show how a traditional craft can be used to make some of the most fashionable and stylish pieces around, such as, clothing,  accessories, Afghans, tablecovers and runners, etc….

Americana Bedspread-

        

Chinese Dragon Bedspread

     

Pumpkin Patch Plaid Bedspread

                         

Chocolate Covered Cherries Blanket

 I will be adding some crochet clothing pieces by Knitting Guru, soon

It’s amazing how far crochet has come since the sixteen hundreds! There are many things that you can use this age-old art for today. We would like to thank Knitting Guru for all her contributions of crocheted clothing and jewelry.  Links: http://www.KnittingGuru.com
            http://www.KnittingGuru.etsy.com
            http://www.KnittingGuru.artfire.com
            http://www.BurryBabies.com
            http://www.BurryBabies.etsy.com
In our next installment, we will be covering some of my favorite crochet stitches which will include beginners lessons.  Come on back and check them out:-)

                                                               

About jewelsdesignscreativecorner

I'm a designer/artist/crafter and all around creative professional. I've been honing my skills for the past 47 years. Since I was a small child. I sold my first piece of art when I was about 7 years old. I'm an entrepreneur and a business owner (JewelsDesigns.org). I display and sell my designs on many different art and social venues. From Facebook to YardSellr to Myspace to LinkedIn, and many more. I'm always interested in featuring my peers in the art world, and do so regularly on my website. My motto is: "If something is done with artistic intent, then it is considered art." I am a mother of one 30 year old daughter and a grandma to a 6 year old grandson, who is the love of my life:-) I love to go camping and fishing, and I've caught some huge bass and catfish! I recently got married for the second time, and I'll be married, to the other love of my life, four years on Sept.1st. I love to read, watch movies with my husband, spend time with my little man, listen to music, and........

Leave a Reply

